WHO KILLED THE ELECTRIC CAR? :: DOC :: 009

8bearElectricCarChris Paine‘s 2006 documentary film, Who Killed The Electric Car? is an entertaining and thought-provoking look at the history, the production and the cold-blooded-murder of the electric car.

It was the film’s tagline that made me quickly put this title into my Netflix queue and with great haste, move it to the top of my gigantic list;

In 1996, electric cars began to appear on roads all over California.  They were quiet and fast, produced no exhaust and ran without gasoline….. Ten years later, these cars were destroyed.

Is there a conspiracy against clean air, clean roads and the use of clean, reusable energy?  Was it a lack of consumer confidence or was it “this conspiracy.”  Jenny and I had to investigate for ourselves, so we popped in the dvd.

When I was about 10 years old, my parents took my sister and me to Walt Disney World in Florida.  Besides seeing the killer whales at Sea World, I was absolutely entranced by a sleek, shiny, solar & electric “car of the future” that they had on a rotating wheel at the Epcot Center.  Now, 21 years later, it probably can still be seen in the Future World showroom… because, let’s face it, it’s not here.  The sad truth is that it was here,… the future that I always felt would come, but “big business” and other “powers that be” decided that it would be more profitable to go back in time rather than forward.  Shame on you General Motors!

Who Killed The Electric Car? is an entertaining film with an important message.  The film features such celebrity electric car (EV-1) leasees such as: Alexandria Paul (kudos to her for standing tall and getting arrested for the cause), Mel Gibson, Tom Hanks, Ed Begley Jr.,  and Peter Horton.  I’m not a car fanatic,… but I hope in 10 years I can drive a car as dope as the EV-1 was.  I won’t hold my breath though.  Watch this film!

One Response to “WHO KILLED THE ELECTRIC CAR? :: DOC :: 009”

  1. Jennifer Pruna Says:

    Yea, I would have loved to get one of those cars, they were cooler, quieter, and cheaper, but big biz have to look out for themselves and not the environment. While they have a good reason to look out for themselves because of jobs, Im sure their main concern is what laid in their wallet. Sad, but true.

Leave a Reply

