LET THE RIGHT ONE IN :: FORIEGN :: 020


Let The Right One In (Låt den rätte komma in), a suggested viewing by another film critic, completely got my blood flowing (much unlike the teeny-bopper Twilight series).

The film opens with the reflection of a young, towheaded, swedish boy, Oskar (Kare Hedebrant), as he somberly looks out his window to the dark, snow-laden ground below.  We learn that he has much to be melancholy about – His parents are divorced, has no friends, and he is constantly tormented by a gang of bullies at school.  One day he meets a 12-year old (more or less) girl (although she says she “isn’t a girl”) named Eli (Lina Leandersson) that doesn’t think too much of the cold and has a funny smell about her.  As mysterious murders plague the town (a “girl” has got to eat!), Eli and Oskar become friends, learn Morse Code together and she helps him find the courage to stand up for himself.

What I enjoyed most about this film was the story.  To often we, this incubus-fantasizing-society, fixate on the vampire’s religious alienation and lecherous associations of sexuality and not necessarily on the messy reality of what happens during “meal time.”  In the movie, Interview with a Vampire, feeding was clean, as if their incisors were slurpy-straws.  How would this type of forced killing feel to a young person – even one that has been a young person for a long time?

We don’t think too much of loneliness and isolation with kids that are able to go to high school and later, conduct jobs (except on days of sunlight) like the characters in Twilight [who oddly enough aren’t expelled for skipping too many days].  But if we ask ourselves, “How would it affect me if I had no one?  How might I look at killing (if I’ve always been a vampire)?”  The film shows us that there is a humanistic compulsion that resides deep within the pale skin of Eli; that she doesn’t want to spend eternity alone.

The second question that arise is one that I am glad this movie brought out.  At one point in my life I wanted to try and become a vegetarian.  Time and time again I would try and fail.  In a conversation with a vegetarian friend of mine, he said, “most people these days, if personally killing a cow all by yourself , would turn away from meat.”  Meat is murder*.

But alas, we are animalistic in nature and designed for the hunt.  Eli feels that way about what she must do to survive.  There is little (if any) remorse for the dead.  The world is her dinner plate and we are but tender, succulent morsels on it.  Of the people that walk, cattle-like, in the snowy landscape, it is not surprising that she desires one as a “pet.”

Staying to the Joyce Review code of “no spoilers,” is hard with this one because, as a vampire film that quickly became my favorite vampire film, I have a vampire’s compulsion to tell the story to everyone I see and talk with.  One thing I will say is that I enjoyed the ending a great deal and I plan on reading John Ajvide Lindqvist’s book of the same title.  I cannot say enough that, if you are a fan of vampire films, you are bound to enjoy this one.

Watch before they give it a Hollywood remake – which I hear is already in the making.

I leave you with the last words communicated in the film.  Figure it out if you can.

[In December, I’ll write in what it was (for those that are too lazy to figure it out on their own).

* dot * dash * dash * dot

* dot * dot * dash

* dot * dot * dot

* dot * dot * dot

Lines are open! ….

*In Swedish. [Enlish Subtitles]     114 minutes.

*Meat is Murder is a song by one of my favorite singers, Morrissey.  He’s a vegetarian and believes strongly in that eating meat is a vile thing. [don’t know if that had any significance or not].  The title of the book (and the movie) Let The Right One In was taken from Morrissey’s song “Let The Right One Slip In.”

*The Morse Code at the end of the movie spelled the letters P-U-S-S.  Stop right there you dirty-minded people… “puss” the Swedish word for “KISS.”  Awww… now isn’t that a sweet ending?

8 Responses to “LET THE RIGHT ONE IN :: FORIEGN :: 020”

  1. Oh god, not another Morrissey fan. *weeps*

    Very good film this is I’d give it a 7.5 I think.

    • joycereview Says:

      Who doesn’t like Morrissey? But honestly Richard, he’s not nearly as popular here as he is in England. And nearly no one talks about The Smiths anymore (amongst my friends and peers). On the other hand… Morrissey is one of the only singers I like to listen to as background music when I write. Much less distracting than The White Stripes and Nirvana.

      Remember though… The Joyce Review is prejudiced against fractions. Is that a rounding up to an 8 or down to a 7? Glad you got to see it! Peace my friend – MJ

      • Morrissey not that popular, nobody talking about The Smiths. You make a good case for living in the US.

        Back to the original matter. I guess I’d round up. *Rating subject to change after repeated viewing.

  2. I personally found the film a bit slow, but then again, I’m rather impatient when it comes to movie and can be a bit ADD at times! 😉 It was a decent flick IMO and I would give it maybe a 6/10. I personally like my vampires like Lestat 😉

  3. Let The Right One In, Switchblade Romance, Rec, The Orphanage, Cold Prey. Just some of the ‘horror’ films I’ve enjoyed watching the most over the past 12 months. See the pattern? None of them Hollywood made.

    America claim that Hollywood boasts some of the greatest directors and actors ever – feel free to prove it!!

    • joycereview Says:

      I think you just proved it yourself! But to be fair, there are some ‘Hollywood’ horror that have done exceptionally well. For instance, just rewatched The Exorcism of Emily Rose for the 5th time and am blown away by the acting, direction, lighting, symbolism, etc. One film you should add to your list is Wolf Creek. Quite a screamer there! Check out my review of it first. Thanks for the comment. Welcome to the Joyce Review!

  4. Proved what?! None of those are Hollywood!

    I like Wolf Creek (not as good as those I’ve mentioned though), but for me, the most memorable Hollywood ‘horror’ over the past few years is The Mist.

    Oh, and you can add Martyrs that fine list of mine above too 🙂

    • joycereview Says:

      Answer to your question: That ‘Hollywood-made’ doesn’t pave the way to success. I’ll have to check out one or two of those titles at some point. Recently I’ve not been in the mood to watch any horror flicks. But I will definitely get around to it when I do.

Leave a Reply

